A (not very helpful) post about Tiny x Machine Gun

Meh. I don’t really know what to blog about these days.

What I do know is that I could NOT get that otome game I mentioned in a previous post called ‘Tiny Machine Gun’ out of my head, so I did some research about it (ie, translating). I don’t know any Japanese, but I do have a Japanese dictionary so the information here is all I have so far.

Some otome games have funny (and suggestive) title names; this one is no exception. Of course it’s only suggestive if you have a warped mind like mine. I mean, what else can you think of when you hear ‘Tiny Machine Gun’ before you are presented with a picture of a guy and wonder how small his machine gun might be?

Er-hem! Before I taint your poor, young innocent minds any further, I’m guessing, for the game, it must mean ‘Tiny and Machine Gun’ because of the ‘x’. I’ve put up the link to the main website up should you be interested in checking it out (to right of blog along with the other banners). It’s an interesting site but I had to skip the intro movie or whatever it was because my computer couldn’t load it properly. There’s a lot of zany background music too, filled with sirens and megaphone-voice-amplifiers. Reminds me of those televised car chase programmes.

Google-translating the Tiny x Machine Gun Staff Blog from Japanese to English to find out more about the game didn’t help much here:

Fufufu tofu together at any time favorite character and why not when I was in

Yeah, that’s exactly what it said  -_______-“”

From the website and Girl’s Style magazine, I discovered that the game is coproduced by IM and Rejet; it is to have a Drama CD and there is to be a PC game released sometime from June to September this year. There are 3 CDs; the first is File 01: The Knockdown, the second is File 02: Shades of Grey, and the third is File 03: Blood and Circuses. It revolves around a police department somewhere in NY guarded by the New York police, or “Captain Vaneast”, and there has been a case regarding the attempted assassination of the Mayor. And there are an abundance of colourful characters on the case. I think the artist is Pako because I recognise the distinct style which is similar to other otome games like Scared Rider Xechs and Fix the Time Arrows but I could be wrong. You should know by now that I am quite the enthusiast for Pako’s art hurrhurr. If they ever release an artbook for this game I am tempted to buy it.

So we have the heroine, Tiny McDaniel (CV: Yukari Tamura). Yes really. Good god! I already can’t stand the ‘name’. It’s like nails on a chalkboard. And I thought the parents who named their baby daughter after the Facebook button ‘Like’ were bonkers. This is ten times worse. What on earth were they thinking? To make it worse, I am led to believe that the potential routes you can go with are probably with her brothers because there are guys with the same surname ‘McDaniel’…so here I am also hoping that there is no incest involved (… there probably is) or they are somehow coincidentally all called McDaniel (but how can you explain the blonde-hair, hm?).

Er…yeah.

From what my minimal translation skills have deduced…Tiny is a rookie policewoman, and she exhibits an air of impatience (REALLY? A policewoman…at 15???).

Yeah, her name really is Tiny. She’s 15 years old.

Ok, if I haven’t bored confused you yet, let’s move on– now the character rosters shows Reigand McDaniel and Bradley McDaniel who I keep getting mixed up with. I have no idea why. Bradley seems the more ‘superhero’ type, while Reigand (who stars in the manga where he is introduced, along with Tiny and Wolf) is a no-nonsense, calm and level-headed man who keeps talking about the peace and safety of citizens and order and working hard day and night.

PS. Reigand is voiced by Sakurai Takahiro (櫻井孝宏) Yippee! :33

I’m getting the feeling Reigand is one of the more important characters/main route(?) compared to Bradley (voiced by Midorikawa Hikaru 緑川 光; if that rings a bell he is also the voice of Ayato from Diabolik Lovers and the Drama CD, where you’ll hear him slurping and making kissing noises lol). Anyway, I’m getting this feel (and its such strong feels too) since Reigand is featured in more promotional artwork along with Wolf; apparently, Zen Mido (CV: Keiji Fujiwara, 藤原 啓治) is linked to Reigand in the past somehow. If it makes anyone’s life better, Wolf is voiced by Koisuke Toriumi (鳥海 浩輔 who is also the voice of Shuu/Syu from Diabolik Lovers. His Drama CD is coming out soon).

I didn’t translate much about Maria (CV: Orikasa Ai). It just says she is a mysterious, enigmatic, beautiful woman who dresses well and then it goes back to about her being a mysterious character but you can sort of tell from her picture (see? you don’t need to know much Japanese after all!) Here are more characters:

I’m not sure about these guys up there but Lian/Ryan Jenkins is the son of the Mayor (Voiced by Miki Shinichirou, 三木 眞一郎, also voice of Toshizo Hijikata from Hakuouki), and Break is apparently the world’s worst prisoner (?). Break is voiced by Tatsuhisa Suzuki (I am biased. Any game with Tatsuhisa Suzuki in it and I’ll be liking it very much).

Translating is hard, especially when you’re only armed with a dictionary and that Babylon website. But check out Tom and Jerry below (I’m not kidding!  They are really called Tom and Jerry….). I think the blue haired one is Tom and the one with the brown, mushroom haircut is Jerry. They’re your typical 1930 silent movie bank-robber bad guys which is kinda funny. As usual, we’ll have to wait to find out more; I’m hoping they’ll add more to the gallery but they have a lot of banners and wallpapers uploaded which is nice.

PS. if I’m totally wrong in these posts, it’s my horrible Japanese-translation skills. So sorry TT_TT

2 thoughts on “A (not very helpful) post about Tiny x Machine Gun

  1. tooru-chan says:

    Thanks for the info! I managed to get the first drama CD and it was fun (on Amiami the other 2 have been sold out D:)

    Sorry if it is an inconvenience for you but, could you scan or take photos of the manga that was published in Girl’s Style that you bought?

Leave a Reply

