If rugged jawlines and lean shoulders are your thang

Scared Rider Xechs is an otome video game for PS2. I think it’s meant to be ‘scarred’ and not ‘scared’, since the whole running-not-so-gaggy thing about it is that all the guys have scars on their hands. 

I don’t understand an ounce of japanese but judging from their website and the pretty pictures and the videos and sample voices and screenshots and complicated-looking game mechanic page, all designed to provide at least 1 simple clue to the foreign enthusiast on WTH the game is all about, it’s about aliens taking over the world and of course, who better than to take them on but a badass group of big bois who are super tall with thin stick legs and slim bodies and lean shoulders and broad chests packed with special abilities called Substance (…I think it’s called that???) who can use it to battle these aliens.  

Official website: http://scared-rider-xechs.jp/

Of course as much as Pako (the illustrator) likes to please the female eyes and appetite for super-skinny tall guys who look like they could use their tallness to play in the basketball league, them ikemen still have to balance school and shiet so they disguise their affiliation during the broad daylight……. as a boyband -sigh-

So cue heavy rock BGM music and Persona-looking Substance creatures that help battle the evilz aliens and we have this kamen-rider/Power ranger/high chool romance thing going on. Man does this sound waaaaay better than what I’ve usually seen @_@

Anywayz I came across Scared Rider because I’ve been bored with the usual RPG and horror games like Final Fantasy or Silent Hill these days because they always follow the same format (ie, fight monsters) so I really wanted a different genre and had a look at otome games. They’re games when you play as a female lead and there’s a bunch of guys who you can go with. You choose one and play their routes and then maybe play the other dudes routes, too.

I guess it’s kinda the same here – fight monsters and stuff – but the gameplay focuses on the guys, too, something that is lacking in RPGs. The female character in this case is a girl called Akira who herself I suppose could be mistaken as a boy because of her short hair and booty shorts, but still, she is a genius so will lend help and teaches the guys who can use their substance to fight them aliens. You can either go for Yousuke, Takt, Yuuji, Kazuki, Hiro or Hijiri. Hmm, that’s a pretty big selection.

I’ve not even had the chance to play the game yet because it means I need to hack my PS2 which I’m not prepared to do TT__TT Oh well, I guess in the meantime, I’ll open up a gallery on photobucket with all the great pics I found on the net ^__^

So here we have some pictures of the cast (hover mouse over pic for namez)!

~ Scared Rider Xechs OP video (Song title: Dan-Gun-Xechs)

2 thoughts on “If rugged jawlines and lean shoulders are your thang

  1. Brady Lynn says:

    Hi great blog! Does running a blog such as this require a great deal of work? I have no understanding of programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow, if you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject nevertheless I just wanted to ask. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

